What *ARE* you talking about?!

I'm not dead!

OMG CORN! - Yaoicon '06

Kiss Kiss fall in love!

Whooooo are you....

Can't we all just get along...?

People I tolorate:

~Roalee
~Ra-chan
~My sister
~Shannon


Site Specific:

~Today
~Yesteryear
~Lil' Bit About Me
~Say That You Love Me...
-My Japanese-obsessive survey!

Miscellaneous:

~Diaryland

~Join Gaia Online!~
Gaia Online

Rings I Belong to:







MY Diaryring!


At last! My very own layout!

*9:38 a.m.* - *October 24, 2006 *

~*OMG CORN! - Yaoicon '06*~


Got back from Yaoicon safely...all I can say is: WOW.

For those who don't know, I got an admisssion to Yaoicon from P-chan and my little sister. ^_^; The sad part (?) was that I had to be away from my family and friends on my birthday. But...but yaoi! >.< I just couldn't pass it up!

What's nice is that it's a smaller convention, like Sakura-con used to be. Though, they're better organized than the older Sakura-cons...which isn't saying that much, really. We also didn't expect that the con didn't actually start until 6 PM on Friday. =P Oh well.
After the long, semi-amusing drive to San Francisco, we crashed and spend most of Friday bumming around. ^_^; And when we first went to the hotel, we sat around watching Kizuna while we waited for our badges. The good thing about the way they do it is: the badges are given out long before the opening ceremony. We got our badges around 1:30 and the opening ceremony wasn't till around 6. Why doesn't Sakura-con do it that way, damn it? We register THE YEAR BEFORE and we STILL cut it close getting the opening ceremony because of those damn badge lines!

If I remember right, there wasn't much to do after that. The dealer's room and the game room didn't open till Saturday! The game room should have at least been open...but it gave us a chance to take a nap before we stayed up all night watching movies. ^_^ I was a little disappointed that I had seen almost everything on the viewing list though...is that really all the yaoi anime there is?

Kat had been talking about some movie when we got the video room schedule, so I was up for seeing it. It was HILARIOUS. Think Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas...but with a gay couple from Edo. ^_^;; It's called Yaji & Kita if anyone's interested in it.

And I FINALLY got to see the Enzai OAV! They threw some scenes together and called it an anime? I mean, it was cool to get to see the characters move, but they didn't get into any characterization at all! And the ending was crap. =P I STILL don't like Lusca and Guys together it makes me angry. Lusca and Evan, damn it! Lusca and Evan!

Um...I remember another nap then, and there was breakfast involved. And then we sat in line for the dealer's room for an hour. The dealers room when it first opened was CRAZY. But I could see why. There was so much early released manga!! I dont't think anything I bought is due out for another month! I started squealing like a nut when I saw the Gakuen Heaven and Princess Princess mangas. ^_^;; I guess I really do fit in with a con full of raving fangirls.

A few of the girls were steriotypically annoying. >.> Although I guess anyone can be percieved as annoying, depending on who's watching. But a majority of the people there were really friendly. People would just start talking to you when you're waiting around for stuff. ^_^;

I actually attended some panels this time! There were some educational ones that were actually helpful. I went to one on general fanfic writing, one on writing sex scenes in fanfiction, and another on the history of fanfic and slash. I guess I shouldn't have been surprised at the maturity of the participants, given the fact that this was an 18+ con. I never knew there were so many ways a person could mispronounce 'yaoi', though. >.<

The greatest thing I saw as fas as cosplay was concerned as an ENTIRE HOST CLUB set up in the Westin lobby. They were awesome cosplayers. There was a Renge and Tamaki outside adverising it, and when you went into the lobby there were tables and chairs, and the hosts were serving tea and cookies. ^_^ And then Tamaki came in and did a typical Tamaki pose, drinking tea. It was priceless. I have pictures. >D

The AMV contest was good, the Cosplay competition was all right, but the BISHOUNEN AUCTION!! Oh my god, I have never seen anything so enticing in my life. *_* All these boys were soooo sexy... And watching them do stuff for tips wasn't bad either. >D I was so sad Scat-chan and Ra-chan weren't there at that point. Hopefully the pics I took will make up for it.

A word of advice, however: don't wear a pink bunny suit in 70 degree weather. I was DEAD at the end of the day. Because of that I slept a bunch, went back to the dealers room on Sunday for a while, played a little Para Para in the game room and then we had to leave. =( I hate not sticking around for the whole day...oh well.

There's always next year, right? RIGHT?! =D Minna-san, we're going next year right? Ra-chan, it was wonderful; Scat-chan, it was safe enough even for you!

And with that I think I should go read some of my huge pile of manga. ::purr:: Happy birthday to me! Ja ne!

Song of the Moment: - Bokura np LOVE STYLE - Suzumura Kenichi & Fujita Yoshinori. Hikaru and Kaoru's image song. Yes, there image song is TOGETHER. >D Almost as amusing as Tamaki's, it's my second favorite of the Host Club's image songs.


*Former* ~ *Latter*
Look, my manga collection!

This plugin requires Adobe Flash 9.